My poll about blogging and the use of explicatives created an interesting little discussion in the Fruit-Cake household. I ::ahem:: tend to be more liberal with the cursing than my dear husband which I attribute to being an English Major because as a poet we were expected and encouraged to use language in any way we could to make a point, paint a picture, create rhyme etc.

Now that Jack is paying much closer attention to what we say I’ve had to get creative substituting other words where I would normally drop the f-bomb or something else I wouldn’t want Jack to repeat at Group. (Oh the embarrassment!)

My favorite is ‘sugar plum faeries’ usually said like this “SUGAR… PLUM…FAERIES.”

So here is the question: What do you say? What did your parents or friends or parent’s friends say?

