Misery loves company.

We all know this, but here’s the thing. I’m not a sadist. I don’t enjoy watching people suffer and I get kinda uncomfortable when people talk about going through some kind of rough patch. I believe everyone should find happiness and that everyone deserves to be happy.

But here’s the thing…

The Blogverse is not the same as real life, and really neither is Facebook- but that’s another topic for another day. Blogs that are about life (this excludes all the cool design blogs, cooking blogs, art and craft blogs, political blogs and yoga blogs I read) should be… you know… real. There are several blogs that I follow that blow a little too much sunshine for me. I’m not suggesting that someone taking a trip to the ER would make it more interesting. Not at all.

But I do believe that several blogs I read lack edge. I’ve done this myself, only blogged about awesome and fun things for fear of being perceived as a buzz-kill. What I wasn’t considering is what people actually want to read about: the awesome time you had finger painting or how the awesome finger painting afternoon went horribly awry when the kids decided to play tag before getting washed off.

Right?!

So let’s promise to be real? Okay?

I’ve had several real-life friends call me to ask how it was for me after having my first baby, or my second because they knew I would keep it real. Kids are wonderful, and adorable and hilarious and loving but they also SUCK THE LIFE OUT OF YOU. That was the truth these friends needed to hear. I’m glad they felt I would be willing to share it.

The truth won’t just set you free, it sets other people free too.

Speaking of truth, can we play a little game called “save my marriage”?
My dear confused husband believes the desert in northern Africa is pronounced one way, I believe it is pronounced another…

Is it Sa*hay*ra like the sound in hay?
Or is it Sa*har*ra like the sound in car?
Or is it Sa*hair*ra like the sound in hair?

I hope I’m right because I’m so tired of correcting him!!

