As it is with most things, money makes all the difference.

I interviewed a Home Birth Midwife this weekend and am in love with the idea of a home birth.  I always assumed the Husband would be the greatest home birth hurdle.  He’s a worrier, he likes to feel like everything is under control.  But when he met this woman he agreed, she’s wonderful, trustworthy, and she totally knows her stuff.

The problem is giving birth in the hospital would cost us a maximum of $300 (even if I end up with a c-section).  To give birth at home will probably cost $2,000.  That’s a worst-case-scenario estimate, but it’s not entirely unrealistic.

So, friends, do you know how I can earn $2,000 in the next 6 months?  Any ideas?  Does anyone know someone who is hiring for part-time/ work at home?  $2,000 in 6 months isn’t much, it’s less than $400 a month.  But to get a ‘real’ job and put the kids in childcare is more work than it’s worth (and it’s not what I want to do anyway.)

Etsy has been an unsuccessful endeavor. 

I can write.  I can paint.  I can teach yoga (almost).  I can advise academically.  I could even operate as a personal assistant remotely.  I can teach, consequently I can grade.  I’ve even done curriculum development.  I would donate my eggs, that’s easy and wicked lucrative, but that area of my body is currently in use.  I’ve even done Web Development, but it’s been a long time.

Part of me wonders if the cost isn’t an excuse to say “no”.  It’s easier to justify the cost than it is to justify the risk, because the reality is birthing at home is safer (see: Outcomes of planned home births with certified professional midwives: large prospective study in North America by Johnson & Daviss).

I digress… so, does anyone know of any jobs for me?

