We can no longer merrily pretend we have no idea what he wants or what his opinion is.

Last Thursday, I was putting the kids to bed. I asked Henry, as we occasionally do, if he wanted to do night-night in Jack’s room. Every other time he’s been posed this question he looks at me with his big sweet eyes and gives me a look that clearly says “Whaaaaat?” Thursday was different. He looked up at me and said “Night-night here.” I wasn’t actually expecting him to ever take me up on my offer. He loves his naps and he loves to sleep at night, I thought we’d need WD-40 and a crow bar to get him to relinquish the crib to his baby sister.

Immediately I regretted asking him, imagining flashbacks to the MONTHS of agonizing transition it took to get Jack to sleep in his big-boy bed. A move forced upon us by his uncanny skill at jumping out of the crib at 17 months. By 24 months he had given up his naps entirely. This sad and frustrating future flashed before my eyes  when Henry made his request.

But what ‘they’ say is true.  Each child really is different.

Every night Henry has gone to bed without a fight, and every nap Henry has kissed me and laid down peacefully for a 3 hour nap.  The allure of freedom has not outweighed Henry’s love of sleep.

Now what used to be Jack’s room is now Jack and Henry’s room. What used to be Jack’s bed is now Jack’s bunk and Henry’s bunk. Someone who used to feel like a baby now feels like a big-boy.  My baby is disappearing.

But I’m incredibly thankful that the move happened on Henry’s terms so at least there won’t be any she-stole-my-bed resentment.

