So after our quiet Christmas morning my parents, my brother, his Alba and her family descend upon us. This would clearly be the Ghost of Christmas Shenanigans. It’s chaotic, it’s hilarious, it’s fun and it’s completely exhausting!


Brunch- I cheated and pulled out some old plastic plates and cups from my birthday. Which made Christmas look like Easter, but at least I didn’t have to run the noisy dishwasher twice in one day!


The presents under the tree grew in number before we finished opening the things for each other. Perhaps the excitement (and assembly required) for each gift lead to a slow opening process.


Speaking of, we finally finished opening everything at noon. (Yes, we take turns in this house. It’s not super organized there’s not a specific order or anything, but teaching the kids to appreciate giving to others and have patience seems like a good thing to cover in the context of Christmas morning.)


The grown-ups held on as long as they could before tearing into the kids presents.


No, really. It was like the house was filled with 10 kids.


I mean really, guys, the actual kids can’t even play with this unless you’re going to lift them up and help them put the marbles in…

I know what you’re thinking “I can’t believe it!  The Christmas Spirits did it all in one morning!”  Our Christmas celebration occurs over the course of 4 days, 2.5 days of Christmas and then one day-after-Christmas trip.

It’s so great to stretch things out because there isn’t this short burst of excitement followed by the post-Christmas blues.  In some ways the Christmas Marathon makes the time after Christmas, when the R&R happens, is equally special in its own way.  I’m one lucky momma!

Tomorrow, I’ll tell you all about our day-after-Christmas trip to the Maryland Science Center!

