Despite my acute awareness of being pregnant, it often escapes me that I’m going to HAVE a baby.

Today I had my 36 week appointment and my midwife explained that he could check my progress if I wanted him to, but being the enlightened practice that they are it’s not their policy to do a cervical check. Since I had some contractions last night, complete with the ever exciting hot flashes, I was kinda curious if anything was actually going on. At only 36 weeks I certainly wasn’t expecting anything, which is why when I had contractions last night I turned to the Husband and said “I’m so not ready for this crap right now; I’m going to bed.” Curious, I said, “Okay.”

When he told me I was 2cm and 50% effaced I was like “Really?“.

And then it dawned on me. I’m actually going to labor and deliver a baby. I don’t really know why this surprises me, but it does.

I was 2cm the day I went into labor with Henry. I don’t think I’m going into labor any minute, but I’m perfectly content to walk around dilating for the next few weeks. That completely natural childbirth, the holy grail of labor and delivery in my world, seems like a completely plausible reality. ::happy dance::

