I’ve had this theme in my head since I saw that life-changing digital reading: “pregnant”. I knew I was going to do owls.

This is the inspiration for the nursery. This is my “First favorite book, Love Mommy and Daddy” (According to the inscription on the first page.)


Along with the book, I knew I was going to get (or as it turns out, make) an owl pillow. Have you seen these things on Etsy. So cute I can’t even stand it!

My first challenge was making a nursery theme around a book with a tragically 1970’s color scheme. You know those plates our parents registered for in the 70’s? Those burnt orange shag rugs? I mean, yes, I’m a hippie- but there is such a thing as going too far. I wanted to create something that felt organic and natural, and when we found out that we were having a girl I has the Husband-imposed restriction: Not too much pink and purple, please. Luckily for him, I don’t have a deep love for pink or purple, at least as it pertains to room decor.

So, we have:
-Owls
-natural color scheme: oranges, yellows, greens and browns.
-need for storage (still living in a townhouse.)
-a desire to reuse or make by hand as much as I could because it’s more cost-effective and also more eco-friendly.


I finally got one of those vinyl trees (delicious). The crib is the crib that my mom, my brother and I have all slept in as babies before it was passed on to my kids. The rug is from Home Goods, I chose it over another because the colors were muted and the lines matches the lines and leaves of the tree best. I used the same fabric to make the owl pillow and the bedskirt. I might be in love with that pattern.


The dresser was my dad’s when he was a kid. It’s just the right height for a changing table.


Glider, ABC cross stitch by my Mom, owl stencil by me, owl pillow also me.


The Husband scanned a page from the book and then printed it and I framed it to hang above the crib. I made those famous Martha Stewart tissue pom poms as the mobile above the crib. I also scored this owl at Hobby Lobby on clearance and painted it to coordinate with the colors in the room. I felt that the original magenta would not quite work with the colors in the room.


Tiny fluffy diapers. Squee!  I had a storage container and took some extra fabric that matched the blanket on the back of the glider and glued it on.


Goodnight Owl sign I made from repurposing the old “No more monkeys jumping on the bed” sign. Heart lithograph print from Etsy. Owl and acorns from Pier 1.


Pat Hutchins book, Goodnight Owl. The cover was ripped into a million pieces, luckily the hardcover is pretty cute too! Owls from Pier 1.

