I have heard from various sources that giving up cable is the best thing they ever did.  Everyone touts money saved as a major benefit, and most people say they don’t miss it at all.

I don’t know many people who don’t watch TV.  This isn’t about not watching TV.  I really admire people who have a TV free home, but I’m not one of them.

We love ‘family movie night’ and I’m not ashamed to admit that sometimes the TV is on for a large part of the day in my house.  It’s not a long-term plan, but in the dead of winter or the heat of the summer I try not to feel guilty about relying on TV for some entertainment.  I could go on for days about how I worry they are becoming little TV zombies and they will one day turn on me and eat my brains- but this isn’t about my self perceived shortcomings as a mother, this is about watching TV and not paying an arm and a leg for it.

But I’m not giving up TV, I’m thinking about giving up cable and DVR.  But how will I watch my shows!? Hulu? How does it work? Do you use it, and are you satisfied? Netflix? Streaming?

But how will I watch Comedy Central, HGTV, HBO!?  What about Discovery and History channel?

Am I going to need my TV to have internet access? Then I could Skype on the TV which would be AWESOME because the kids would actually “get” it a little better. What about media players?  Should I worry about bandwidth?

If you gave up TV and got creative I would LOVE to hear how you do it!  Tell me everything!

