20121107-075109.jpg

Gay marriage is legal in Maryland. A man and a woman can get married. Two men can get married. Two women can get married.

My marriage? Ees solid (you must read this with a Russian accent for full effect).

Frankly? It’s better than ever. I could choose to marry anyone- and I’d still choose him. Now my marriage can stand among the great love that all my friends feel for their partner, not just some of my friends (but only if they have the right kind of partner).

20121107-081017.jpg

Six years and three days ago, I married my husband. Our wedding program said this: “Thank you for sharing our wedding day with us but there are many families who love each other just as much who cannot legally marry. We hope one day that all loving families can celebrate as we are celebrating today.”

We are here. It is happening. I am humbled.

