I have been on the lookout for a new front door for a while now.

Our current door is…
20130518-125645.jpg
well, it’s just not very pretty. As an added bonus it lets in the cold (heat) because its just so old and inefficient. The carpet glued onto the front stoop isn’t really helping anything can anyone tell me how carpet outside is a good idea. (This is no indoor-outdoor area rug- this is madness!!)

Every time I ride in the car or go to a hardware store I look at the doors. Looking for just the right door for our little Mid Century house. While all the doors I saw had modern features like Low-E glass and steel or fiberglass options and even insulated core none of them looked modern.

20130518-125120.jpgColonial… Geometric, but still Colonial

20130518-125133.jpgColonial

20130518-125158.jpgColonial and Craftsman had a baby

20130518-125209.jpgCraftsman

These are great doors. I took pictures of them because I would consider them for our house. But our house isn’t Colonial, Georgian, or Craftsman. It’s a mid century ranch- and I’m embracing the mid century all the way.

I can’t shake the feeling that we need something different. I liked the other doors but I had a feeling that they weren’t quite right.

Then I went to a mom and pop lumber store. And found this:
20130518-125219.jpg
I have no idea how much they cost, I don’t know which one I like best, but I MUST have one!

