I know the minute I write this something colossally bad will happen, but I’m doing it anyway.

This morning I said “Jack, daddy doesn’t have time to make your lunch today. Please make your sandwich.”
“Okay.”

He took the jars out of the fridge. Got the bread. Opened the jars. Made a sandwich. And put it in a baggie. All I had to do was put the jars back in the fridge, and I’ll take that!

This morning I told Henry he needed to choose clothes for school and get himself dressed and then put his shoes and socks on. After a quick reminder to stay on task, and some discussion about weather appropriate clothing- he was ready!

Maggie reminded me that she needed to sit on the potty today. When I told her “It’s time to get dressed,” she replied “My do. My do!” Frankly, the battle of appropriate clothing is not worth fighting with her. Her outfit is a little ridiculous, but… down to the shoes- she put it all on herself!

I think, ladies and gentlemen, I’m about to get a promotion! I might be destined for management!

I realize this proclamation is akin to announcing that your six week old or six-month-old is sleeping through the night. Putting my good fortune in writing is a highly dangerous business. I may as well invite the children to color with sharpie markers while sitting on the expensive couch.

But having three children in a 50 month span of time, that’s four years and two months for those of you who don’t want to do the math, means I often don’t have even a few seconds to dedicate myself.

I’ve survived on cold coffee and leftover fish sticks. Forgotten to shower, forgotten to change my clothes, and from time to time forgotten deodorant. I hastily apply mascara at traffic lights. I have a better quality of understanding of children’s literature and television shows on PBS, yet I hardly have the time to finish my own books and my best chance of watching current television is once the season is available on Netflix. I used to build websites, write research papers, and have elaborate and time-consuming hobbies. I am actually afraid of Microsoft 8, I could not for the life of me remember how to properly cite a source but, I still have elaborate and time-consuming hobbies.

My children are the biggest, most time-consuming most joyful part of my life. Easy is relative. Easy is still very, very difficult. But the things I don’t do for myself anymore I get to do for them. For now. This time is fleeting and will be treasured.

